The parrots are a broad order of more than 350 birds. Macaws, Amazons, lovebirds, cockatoos and many others are all considered parrots.

Though there is great diversity among these birds, there are similarities as well. All parrots have curved beaks and all are zygodactyls, meaning they have four toes on each foot, two pointing forward and two projecting backward. Most parrots eat fruit, flowers, buds, nuts, seeds, and some small creatures such as insects.

Parrots are found in warm climates all over most of the world. The greatest diversities exist in Australasia, Central America, and South America.

Interesting facts:

Some parrot species can live for over 80 years.

Cockatoos usually have black, gray or white plumage (feathers).

New Zealand is home to some unique parrots including the kea, kaka and kakapo.

The Heftiest Parrot Weighs as Much as a Cat.

Parrot Feathers Contain Antibacterial Pigments.

But not all of them can fly.