Kangaroo, any of six large species of Australian marsupials noted for hopping and bouncing on their hind legs. Kangaroos belong to the animal family Macropodidae, which literally means ‘big foot.’ Thanks to their large feet and powerful hind legs, kangaroos can travel more than 56 km/h and leap more than 9 m in a single bound. Kangaroos are found in Eastern Australia, where they live in small groups called troops or herds.  A kangaroo can reach heights from anywhere between 3- 8 feet (1 to 3 meters) and can weigh between 40 and 200 lbs (18-100 kg).

Interesting facts:

Kangaroos don't walk, oh no, they jump everywhere! 

Kangaroos’ bodies are designed for jumping! They have short front legs, powerful back legs, huge back feet and strong tails. All of these help them to jump around and their tail balances them.

Baby kangaroos are called joeys. How cute is that?

Female kangaroos usually only have one joey at a time. Mother kangaroos have special pouches on the fronts of their bodies for carrying their joeys in.

Kangaroos can swim.

Most kangaroos eat grass.

The red kangaroo is the largest marsupial in the world.

Kangaroos usually live to around six years old in the wild.